Smoked Sweet Corn

The smoker isn’t just for meats.  When you smoke sweet corn not only does it come out perfectly cooked but it also evolves the taste something fantastic.

Easy prep work, a perfect side dish that will bring you back for more.  Read on to see how it was done.

It’s really quite impressive to see the transformation that occurs when you smoke vegetables. I’ve been on the mission to smoke any and every that I get my hands on.  Today, it was corn.  Previously, Dave covered grilling the corn in this post, I decided to do things a little differently.

Preparation was basic.  Leave the husk, but remove the silk.

Use a salt water brine to help keep everything moist during the cooking process.  1/4 cup salt to 4 cups water was the ratio I used.  I let the corn soak for 3 hours, and used a glass lid to prevent the corn from floating on top of the water.

Add your ears to the smoker.  I left mine on for 3 hours and was pleased to find a perfectly cooked and juicy ear of corn.  Don’t be afraid to pull an ear off and check for doneness during the cooking process.

Remove the husk and enjoy.  Don’t worry if some of the corn looks a bit over cooked where the husk doesn’t cover.  I promise it will not disappoint!

For this smoking session, I used about 4 to 6 oz of cherry wood in my Brinkmann Electric smoker which we previously discussed in this post.  Cherry tends to be a sweeter smoke, and that paired well with sweet corn.

My only wish is that there was more room in my smoker.  I just barely fit 5 ears on the top rack.  I may need to devise a better corn smoking system for future BBQ sessions.

About cookingnate

Co blogger @ www.cookuntilepic.com
This entry was posted in Dinner, sides, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smoked Sweet Corn

  1. savvygrammie says:

    The corn sounds super yummy. I’ve never done any smoking but I would love to. Enjoyed quite a few of your posts.

Leave a comment