5-Minute “Ice Cream”


I’m never one to make dessert. Desserts are usually time-consuming to make, and by the time I’m finished eating a meal that I’ve made, I rarely have room for dessert. However, the heat of summer is upon us in full force here in the Midwest, and who doesn’t like ice cream on a hot day? This recipe for fruit “ice cream” may not be true ice cream, but it’s still one of my favorites

I don’t remember where I first saw this recipe, but a close copy of it can be found here. I modified this recipe, as I usually do. My recipe is as follows:

Ingredients
15 ounce package of frozen strawberries
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 pint heavy cream

Place the strawberries (or any frozen fruit) and sugar into a food processor and process until they are pretty will cut up. Once the strawberries are chopped well enough, begin to slowly pour the cream in and incorporate into the mix. I usually blend until most of the sugar dissolves, though this could probably be remedied by making a simple syrup ahead of time.

Overall, this is a quick recipe that really impresses for the amount of time and effort put into it. The consistency of the end product is more like a thick milkshake than ice cream. I’ve tried to freeze the mixture to make it more firm, but it ends up being too solid to scoop. If anyone has any suggestions for making the consistency more like ice cream without sacrificing the end result, leave a comment below. I’d love to hear your thoughts! 

-Dave

About Dave

Co blogger @ www.cookuntilepic.com
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

