Grilled Steamed Corn


Corn on the cob may be one of the most well-defined summertime side dishes ever. I’ve had it cooked almost every way imaginable. I’ve boiled it, steamed it, roasted it, and grilled it. But for dinner the other night, I decided to try a slight combination of these methods; steaming the corn while grilling it.


I’m of the opinion that steaming corn over a boiling pot of water seasoned with Old Bay is the superior way to cook it. The corn comes out tender as it should, but it also comes out dry for the most part, which makes any butter stick to the corn that much better.

The other night it was unseasonably warm out, and was therefore warm in the house; so I didn’t want to heat the house any more than necessary by firing up a pot water to steam corn over. I wanted to get the same outcome, so I tried the following method.

I cleaned the corn as normal, then wrapped each ear in aluminum foil. I didn’t want the corn to burn, so I went a little heavy-handed with the foil. I used enough so that each ear was rolled into about 4 or 5 layers. After the corn was rolled, I twisted one of the ends tight and then put some water into the open end, maybe 1/8 cup or just a little less for each ear. after the water, I twisted the second end shut tight and placed them on the grill over medium-low heat.

I put the corn on the grill 5 minutes before the rest of the food, and in the time it took me to cook the hamburgers and hot dogs, the corn was done. During the time on the grill, I did turn them so each side got roughly equal time over the heat.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I knew that I was hoping for perfectly cooked corn that rivaled steaming or even boiling. What I ended up with was corn that was every bit as good as corn that I’ve steamed. Next time I try this, I’m going to try adding some seasoning in with the corn to try and duplicate the way that Old Bay sticks to the corn while steaming in the tradional method. All in all, I think I may have found a new favorite way to cook corn.

-Dave

About Dave

Co blogger @ www.cookuntilepic.com
This entry was posted in sides, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grilled Steamed Corn

  1. Briana says:

    My family has cooked corn like this for years. If you use one layer of foil you get a more grilled effect on the corn, but still juicy. The honemade foil pouch is also a great way to make hot sausage sandwiches like at the fair! Put hot sausage, sliced peppers, sliced onions, and water in a foil bag on the grill…… mmmmmm… delicious!!!!

    • Dave says:

      I’ll have to try the italian sausage method, sounds awesome! I use a similar method to make potatoes on the grill. I use a large foil packet filled with sliced redskin potatoes, butter, water and seasoning. They’re amazing done like this. In fact, I’ll have to make a post on that sometime soon…

  2. jeremy says:

    Very nice. I’ll have to try it next time.

  3. Pingback: Smoked Sweet Corn | Cook Until Epic

  4. Jessica Estes says:

    My husband and I have been cooking our corn this way for years and its our favorite! But instead of water try coffee creamer! Its amazing!

Leave a Reply

