Pickled Turnips

A few years ago I spent some time working in the Middle East and consequently fell in love with the food.  One of my favorite additions to the meals served over there were the different pickled vegetables.  One of my favorites were pickled turnips, so I decided to try and make them myself.

Oh-ee-oh killer tofu

Once again, I found myself turning to Google for an idea on how to pickle turnips.

Pickled Turnips

  • 1 turnip
  • 3 beets
  • glass jar ( I used a well washed pickle jar)
  • white vinegar
  • salt

I decided to start small, so I purchased just one turnip and one “bundle” of beets (3 total).  The next time I make these, I’m going to follow the recipe more closely with a 2 turnip to 1 beet ratio.

Start by peeling all the roots.  Careful with the beets, they’re going to turn anything they can red.

Ready for slicin’

Once peeled, slice into 1/4 inch strips and mix together in a bowl with a tablespoon of salt.  Try and spread the salt evenly, this is to help extract moisture from the roots.

I left the bowl sit for about 12 hours, draining the water twice.  I then transfered them into my jar, filled the jar full of vinegar, and set it in the window for 2 days.  When my time had elapsed, I had pickled turnips.

As I said before, I wished I would have used less beets.  The beet taste (or dirt taste, as Dave calls it) was a bit stronger than I would have liked it to be.  1 beet would have been enough, not 3.

About cookingnate

Co blogger @ www.cookuntilepic.com
This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

