Steak on the Broiler

For me, Wednesday is the hardest night of the week to cook dinner.  Too tired to put a lot of effort into a meal, and I’ve run out of leftovers from the weekend to reheat.  Often the solution is to order carry out because it’s quick and easy.  Guess what – broiling a steak is quick and easy too.

The perfect solution for a middle of the week slump, or any other night of the week.  Here’s how I did it:

Set your oven to Broil.  You’ll be using the top oven element, so move the rack near the top of the oven. I placed mine second from the top, just so I had some room to work with. Place a cast iron skillet into the oven to preheat.

Prepare your steak – any cut, whatever you like.  I went with New York Strips, about 9oz each.  Dave covered preparing steaks in a previous post .

Once your skillet is hot, pull your pan out and add in the steaks.  Return to the oven to broil.

It won’t take long to cook.  Times will vary depending on desired doneness and thickness of the meat.  I cooked these for 4 minutes a side.  After a total of 8 minutes of cooking, I checked my temp.

Medium well.  A minute less on each side would have put in into medium territory.  I’ll take it.

There you have it.  This dinner was literally spur of the moment.  I picked up the steaks on my drive home from work.  I seasoned the steak and fired up the oven as soon as I walked in the door.  After 8 minutes of cooking, I had great steak.

About cookingnate

Co blogger @ www.cookuntilepic.com
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

