A “lets see how this tastes” Dinner. Breaded and Glazed Pork Tenderloin

I use a lot of pork tenderloin in my kitchen.  I usually buy a nice sized (8lb or so) tenderloin and slice it up into 1/2″ cuts and freeze it by the pound .  It’s easy to set some frozen tenderloin out to thaw while I’m at work so that it’s ready to be cooked by the time I’m home.  I moved a bag to the fridge to thaw last nite, but hadn’t planned any further what I was going to do with it.

When I got home from work today I was debating on whether to cook the tenderloin on the stove, or if I wanted to bake it.  I decided to google a few recipe ideas to help me make up my mind.  I found one on food.com that called for baking an entire tenderloin with an awesome looking glaze.  My tenderloin was already sliced, so I decided that I was going to just fry it on the stove and use a variation of the glaze from that recipe.

My glaze variation-

  • 1 tbs Frank’s Original Red Hot
  •  1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  •  1 heaping spoonful Minced Garlic
  •  1 tbs ketchup (or is it catsup?)

I was only cooking 1.5lbs of pork, so I shrank the recipe down quite a bit.  If you’re a fan of Red Hot, I’d go with 2 tbs instead of one. Combine everything in a pot and simmer while you cook your pork.

Breading for the pork-

  • flour
  • paprika
  • seasoned salt
  •  pepper
  • parsley
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl (amount of each is personal preference).  In a separate bowl combine milk and egg and wisk together.  Dunk each tenderloin slice in the milk/egg  then cover in flour mixture.Fry in a skillet with 2tbs of oil over medium high heat until no longer pink in the middle.  Once they’re finished cooking, pour the glaze over top and enjoy.

Breaded and Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Not gonna lie - that's ricearoni next to my tenderloin 🙂

The glaze really made this meal.  I will be using it again.  With a bit more modification it would work well as a BBQ sauce for chicken.   It did have a kick to it (as you would expect Red Hot sauce to have) but the brown sugar really sweetens it up and rounds out the taste with the garlic.


About cookingnate

Co blogger @ www.cookuntilepic.com
This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

